The Rivers Secondary College, Lismore High Campus logo

The Rivers Secondary College, Lismore High Campus

The Rivers Secondary College, Lismore High Campus

Success with Pride

Telephone02 6621 5185

Notable Alumni

Notable Alumni of Lismore High School include:


  • Peter Arnison AC, CVO - (LC 1958) Major General, Land Commander Australia 1994-1996, Governor of Queensland 1997-2003.
  • Ken Buttrum - former head of the Department of Juvenile Justice of New South Wales.
  • Vivian Chow Yung (1906-1941) Journalist. Founder of the "United China Magazine" in Shanghai and Foreign Affairs Editor of the "Sin Wian Pao" newspaper in Shanghai in the 1930s.
  • Bruce Duncan (1928-2005) First ex-student to become Member for Lismore (1965-1988) in the New South Wales Legislative Assembly.
  • Bob Ellis - (LC 1958) Writer, journalist and political commentator.
  • David Ellyard - Science broadcaster and weatherman.
  • Dr. Paul Hockings, author, editor, filmmaker, and Professor of Anthropology at the University of Illinois.
  • Roy Masters AM - Football coach.
  • Pat Morton - (1910-1999) Leader of the NSW Opposition (1955-1959) and Askin Cabinet Minister.
  • John Niland AC - Vice Chancellor of the University of New South Wales 1992-2002.
  • Richard Nott AM, President Australia-Britain Society, Australian Rep Friends of St. George's, CEO CGULMI 2001-2012, MD Australia MGICA 2012-16 At LHS 1954-56
  • Frank Oakes - (1906-1984) (LC 1924) First ex-student to become Mayor of Lismore. Oakes Oval in Lismore is named after him.
  • Bill Rixon - (1941-2003) Member of NSW Parliament for Lismore (1988–1999).
  • George Sharpe (LC 1942) Justice of the Supreme Court of New South Wales 1989-1993.
  • Isaac Smith - Deputy Mayor of Lismore City Council and Councillor since September 2008.
  • Richard Stratford (LC 1960) Headmaster Sydney Boys' High School 1992-1999.
  • Douglas G. Stuart - Regents' Professor Emeritus of Physiology, The University of Arizona.
  • Harry Wharton OBE FAA - (1923-1983) Notable Zoologist and Entomologist, particularly for the CSIRO.

Related content